This P/T Sup is fed up!

CHAABA

I have been a p/t sup for three years. I'm tired of always being suprised with new responsibilities. In particular... I was approached by my manager in December and told to be in my building the following morning for a class. I assumed it was just a basic safety class or similar. Turns out it was a 32 hour class to teach the designated responder classes. I've been a manager responder for a year, but had I known this was to teach the class I would have politely declined (I should have left the class when I found out what it was). Why not have the friend/t people, or other managment, do this? I'm not getting paid enough for the headache.

I get a call today telling me that I have a 12 hour class starting tomorrow. A little more notice would have been nice, I'm nowhere near prepared. A manager sent me home early from my regular sort because they don't want me to go over 27 hours (even had us sign papers saying that we wouldn't go over 27 hours) but the only reason I went in at all was so that I could print out everything I needed for this class. So I get mad and voice my concerns and he gets mad at my "attitude". Now, I'm going to show up at 8 in the monring for a 12 hour designated responder class with nothing. And, I just know I will get in some sort of trouble, or at least have to deal with PO'd managers because of what is certain to go wrong. I don't have a computer to show visuals, I don't have training manuals for the students, tests, forms for them to sign... I'll have to dig around in offices to find enough pens in case the students don't bring one with them. Don't even get me started on the fact that some of them may be coming from buildings with SCBA.