This seems weird.

yeldarb

I have been a driver for about 10 years, and a friend of mine ordered a next day air, which was shipped yesterday, Wednesday (the 31'st) Is a next day air, so it should be delievered on Friday...( I would think anyways). However, the UPS site says it is on time, but is scheduled for delivery on Jan. 5. She needs it by Saturday, and having it shipped on Wednesday, shouldnt it be delivered on Friday? The tracking number is 1Z 5X3 861 01 0053 383 3.

Catatonic

Nine Lives
I have been a driver for about 10 years, and a friend of mine ordered a next day air, which was shipped yesterday, Wednesday (the 31'st) Is a next day air, so it should be delievered on Friday...( I would think anyways). However, the UPS site says it is on time, but is scheduled for delivery on Jan. 5. She needs it by Saturday, and having it shipped on Wednesday, shouldnt it be delivered on Friday? The tracking number is 1Z 5X3 861 01 0053 383 3.
Did not hear anything about Air processing being suspended for 12/31.
My guess is the transit files used to determined SDD got 'mucked" up with the changes made for no Ground movements on 12/31.
LOUISVILLE, KY, US 01/01/2009 12:07 A.M. ARRIVAL SCAN
If I had to bet, I would bet on it getting delivered tomorrow 1/2.
CTC on UPS.com shows delivery on 1/2.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

As you know, yesterday was a UPS holiday, with delivery of next day and 2nd day only and pickups had to be scheduled in advance, which is where your problem lies. It sounds to me as though the shipper in question did not schedule a pickup so, while the billing information has been received, the pkg is still sitting at the pickup and will be picked up on Friday and del on Monday. My advice to you is to call the shipper and ask him to upgrade to Saturday ($10 extra).

yeldarb