Those in central states please respond - warning letter for calling in sick 2 days in a row...

I'm relatively new to UPS...been working here for little over a year. I'm a part-timer working under the Central States contract. I work at a large Hub. Anyways, I called in sick this past Monday and Tuesday as I was legitimately sick with the flu/cold. After calling in on Tuesday, I was called back by our sort manager and was told that they needed me there tonight (Tuesday) and if I didn't show up there would be repercussions. I told him that I understood, but said I would not be there as I was sick. I show up to work yesterday (Wednesday), still sick....blood shot eyes, bad cough, raspy throat, and sweat beads all over my face in 20 degree weather even before I started working......and said sort manager and part time sup approach me and give me warning letter which i refuse to sign. I basically tell them, "look at me, i'm clearly still sick and didn't call in the previous two days just to extend my X-mas vacation" (as we had thursday and friday off the week before). I got the impression both sups realized I was actually sick, but sort manager tells me "well...consider this a verbal warning then" and trots off like the jerk i now know he is. Before this, I have called in only once, and that was back in April

Before creating this post, I searched the forum for info on attendance policy under central states and have seen others from central states say that there is a 3 occurrences in 90 day rule before discipline begins. Being a proud union guy, I've read our central states contract front-to-back and back-to-front....but I don't see anything about a 3 occurrences in 90 day rule in the contract. I called our local union today for information on this, but they are out until Monday.