Tired of the Comparison between Package and Freight!

Personally I am getting tired of the comparison between the package and freight side of UPS. As a driver I perform the same job whether I work for package or freight and should be paid the same. Quite frankly it is an insult to my profession to earn less than my respected package drivers. If I were a cardiologist I would be expected to earn a certain level of income for my experience. It seems as though the package side is treated like cardiologists and the freight side like general practitioners? Give me a contract I can vote for, I'm begging you please!

And please, please don't tell me how much more the package side makes than freight to support your argument. Wages are about experience. If you want to nickel and dime employees do it at the senior management level where the income or lack thereof is determined by the decisions being made at that level. Thanks for your time.

ajblakejr

Age quod agis
Package drivers cover smaller areas and deliver more pieces per hour.
Package drivers deliver 150# packages which sales should have moved to Cartage or Freight delivery with liftgates or trucks backed to a dock.
Packaged drivers follow methods, live and breathe DOK, S&V, can recite 8 keys to lift and lower, five keys to slips and falls....

A freight driver could not handle the demands of delivering as many stops as Package using a Diad without a paper manifest.

A NDA envelope generates more revenue than a skid of ground freight.

Johney

Wages at UPS are not about experience it's about seniority. You have a lot to learn about this company.

Just to clarify Johney, I'm a road driver so I'm not talking about package car drivers at package or city drivers at freight. My comparison only deals with road drivers at both business units. I beg to differ with regard to your interpretation. Yes, seniority matters, but it shouldn't determine compensation with regard to road drivers.

ronroper