Transfer?

Brownpride816

I had been working part time (union member)for ups for about 4 years now , I live in Kansas City, however, I want to transfer to California, the reason for this is because my fiancée lives there.

I am a next day air driver here

my problem is that here in Kansas City I'm next on the list to go driving full time ,my ultimate goal is to transfer and be a driver over in California...

What can I do to make this happen? Thank you guys :)

Last edited:

oldupsman

Your only choice really is to leave K.C. on good terms and ask your current supervisor if he could get you
rehired in Ca. If you have a good record I'm sure they're be glad to hire you back. They won't need to retrain you.
Yes I know you'll lose your 4 years of service.

Almost did the same thing myself back in 1980. I had 5 years in Pa. and seriously thought about transferring to AZ.
We had just started up out there. The center manager at the center told me he would rehire me in a heartbeat. But I would have to start
over. Decided it just wasn't worth it.

Brownpride816

Your only choice really is to leave K.C. on good terms and ask your current supervisor if he could get you
rehired in Ca. If you have a good record I'm sure they're be glad to hire you back. They won't need to retrain you.
Yes I know you'll lose your 4 years of service.

Almost did the same thing myself back in 1980. I had 5 years in Pa. and seriously thought about transferring to AZ.
We had just started up out there. The center manager at the center told me he would rehire me in a heartbeat. But I would have to start
over. Decided it just wasn't worth it.

I asked my HR and she said if I went to school there I could get a transfer and also keep my seniority :) ... The only concern at this point would be where I would be in the driving list?.. She said I have to call the California hub and ask them, she didn't have the number..

Do any of you guys have a number I can call?(Fontana CA, or general ups HR)