'Union Dues' Question(New England area?)

700 PPH

I have a question about Union Dues. I have been working at UPS for about 5 months now. I recently got done paying the $500 Int. Fee to join the union up here in Massachusetts(Not sure if it is the same everywhere but w/e). Anyway what they did was take out $32 a week until it was paid. So after it was all paid I looked at my first check and they are now taking out $49 a week for Union Dues(Which seems high to me). I make 10.50/hour I am actually making less on a paycheck now than I was before. I went from making about $120 a week, to $175 a week now back down to $140ish a week. I guess I am just wondering what exactly union fees are all about, and if I can expect to see mine drop anytime soon.

Also this might be unrelated but it is my understanding that up here you have to work for 500 hours before you start receiving benefits. I am at about 340 right now but I am already getting stuff in the mail asking me stuff about which insurance I want or something like that(I skimmed through the mail). Do benefits in any way relate to union dues?

Thanks for the help.

happybob

Feeders
what local are you in ? as far as dues go they are 3 times your hourly rate.