UPS driver fed up with trucks that don't have A/C

cheryl

I started this.
Staff member
UPS driver fed up with trucks that don't have A/C - WWSB

Summer is around the corner, but already temperatures are beginning to rise. One group not happy about that is UPS drivers, since most of their trucks don't have A/C.

"No one in the delivery industry uses A/C in those trucks because the doors are open all day long and the air moving in and out so it will make AC very ineffective," said Dan McMackin a UPS representative.

And he says there are things the driver can do to stay cool. "Training is really key to avoiding a situation like that. The first step is hydration, the second step is focus on wellness in your every day life, so diet does add additional factors to the heat."

1BROWNWRENCH

Amatuer Malthusian
As an AC tech, I am really skeptical that it would be effective in the application. Even in dry climates in a somewhat insulated tractor sleeper cab that rarely opens you would be lucky to have 80* inside when it's 110 outside.

BMWMC

B.C. boohoo buster.
Its all the drivers (workers) fault don't you understand? Your life style, your (loser) habits outside of work, your failure to follow UPS's shifting constellation of 10,0000 work rules and procedures. UPS's work pace, work load, work rules, equipment, and environmental stresses have zero to do with heat stroke, heat exhaustion or any injuries period. Now go get your lawyers (aka, pound sand) cause we've got a method and a procedure for this or that or anything that points the finger back at us (UPS) plus billions of $$ and legions of lawyers to make whats wrong right.

BMWMC

B.C. boohoo buster.
Notice the DIAD communication sound going off in the background. Probabaly giving a safety tip about drinking enough water.

Yea now try and break off for a squirt and catch a "retraining" 3 day ride on when it cost them money. :sick: