UPS - Driver Helper: introduction & questions

CBus

Hi everybody,

UPS experience so far: I was hired on in early December as a driver helper for my first season (I had a pulse and no criminal history, that took a lot).
During peak I was assigned to two drivers (typically about 8 hours a day not including the hour lunch in the middle) and did a mix of pickups & drops, commercial & residential. The Friday before Christmas, I turned in my pullover and picked up my paycheck.
After Christmas weekend the package center called me and asked me to pick up a new pullover and meet with a different driver & that the HR director wants to meet with me in a few weeks.
I've been doing that for 4 hours a day since then on a regular route in the mornings with the occasional afternoon route when the package center needs me.

Personally: I am a 30 y/o college student who spent his 20s burning the candle at both ends selling real estate & working 14 hour days at a distribution center as an inventory control manager (it went from being an internship to a full time job unexpectedly). Economy collapsed and I squandered my savings working on my college degree (Sociology major, business minor) & avoiding debt.

Questions:
1. How long should I expect to keep working as a driver helper? I've heard murmurs of some routes getting permanent p/t driver helpers, but wouldn't the seniority thing with the Union give others the first right of refusal on such a position?
2. In your age and various stages of working at UPS, do you think you made the right choice to "Go Brown" with your life track?
3. Whats next?

In advance, thanks for your insight!

cheryl

I started this.
Staff member
Hi Cbus.

I'm pretty sure the answers to your questions depend upon your local economy and the requirements of your location. You will probably get more responses to specific questions like those by posting in the UPS discussions forum.

Welcome to our community.

menotyou

bella amicizia