UPS Full-Time hiring freeze? or What gives

phoophiter

I am a cover driver and have been at this center for 6 years and we haven't had a full-time driver hired since 2007. We use to run over 40 routes now it is down to about 31. We have had 6 fired, 3 retire, 2 quit, 1 long-term disabilty, and 1 die of a heart attack. When a driver leaves they do not hire a replacement instead they cut a route. They say it is because of lower volume, but, I have not seen it.

We have 4 cover drivers that pretty much drive year round. I am the 5th out and got a lot of time this summer, but, am not on the road yet for peak. The union does not seem to do much to get the driver slots filled. Is this going on country-wide or just here at my center??

Coldworld

60 months and counting
I am a cover driver and have been at this center for 6 years and we haven't had a full-time driver hired since 2007. We use to run over 40 routes now it is down to about 31. We have had 6 fired, 3 retire, 2 quit, 1 long-term disabilty, and 1 die of a heart attack. When a driver leaves they do not hire a replacement instead they cut a route. They say it is because of lower volume, but, I have not seen it.

We have 4 cover drivers that pretty much drive year round. I am the 5th out and got a lot of time this summer, but, am not on the road yet for peak. The union does not seem to do much to get the driver slots filled. Is this going on country-wide or just here at my center??