UPS IT laying off 58 and older employees?

Developer

I work as a senior developer in the Parsippany building, and I overheard conversations today that all IT employees that are 58 and older received an email this past Wed. stating that a severance package is being offered to them as a means to end their employment. From what I overheard, it's :

3 month's salary
paid unused vacation days
1 week pay for every year of service dedicated to the company (20 years = 20 weeks pay).

If you don't accept this package by June, then you are on bought time until HR lays you off for other reasons while avoiding age discrimination.

Does anyone have more knowledge of this situation and why this is happening? I was naive to think this is a company I can retire with and they will take care of me if I work hard, but this sent me the message that they are ready to kick me to the curb when I turn 58. I also overheard this was done in 2008 as well, is that true?

A lot of knowledge is about to head out that door and I am seeing more and more consultants pop up in this building. My future has just become murkier with these actions.

Box Ox

Check out the third linked article down on the front page of BrownCafe titled "UPS Executives Look To Speed Up Transformation" for your answer.

Corporations gonna corporate.

Developer

Check out the third linked article down on the front page of BrownCafe titled "UPS Executives Look To Speed Up Transformation" for your answer.

Corporations gonna corporate.

Terrible, and they always make it sound so harmless. "The first involves a voluntary early retirement program available to nonunion management workers in nonoperations roles."

"Sign this deal or gtfo" sounds more accurate to me.

MyTripisCut

Never bought my own handtruck
Terrible, and they always make it sound so harmless. "The first involves a voluntary early retirement program available to nonunion management workers in nonoperations roles."