UPS Seasonal driving position question

northeast swing driver

I have been a swing driver at Fred ex since 2001. I have an interview at UPS for the seasonal driving position. The UPS station covers the same area my Fedex station covers so i am familiar with the area. What are the odds UPS would keep me permanently if they like the way I do the job productivity wise? I know there are no guarantees. I spoke to a UPS driver at a stop last week and he said this particular station is keeping more temporary drivers than they had in the past because of drivers retiring and needing to fill the position. Reason i am posting the question here is I have spoken to a number ofUPS drivers at this particular station over the last few years of thinking about taking the leap and every one gives a different answer. One guy says 0 chance. then the next guy says good chance. I have really had it with fedex (pay and the way they treat us) and would be willing to take the gamble. Also if they didn't keep me and laid me off is there a chance they would eventually call me back and hire me permanently as a driver. I know that with the union off the street permanent hires as drivers are few and far between. if anyone could give me any insight i would really appreciate it. THX

You aren't going to get any guarantees here. As long as you dig deep and bust your ass you having area knowledge will give you a leg up. Lean their methods and try to get rid of the ones you've learned at FedEx. Ups is the big leagues but a lot of these big leaguers (ups drivers )who tell you this stuff have no clue. So work hard and tell ups management what you are giving up to be a part of your new team.

northeast swing driver