UPS Shareowners Elect Board, Reappoint Deloitte & Touche

Discussion in 'UPS Pressroom News' started by ROBO MOD, May 5, 2016.


    ROBO MOD I'm a Robot Staff Member

    Shareowners of UPS (NYSE: UPS) today elected a Board of Directors for a one-year term and ratified the appointment of Deloitte & Touche LLP as the company’s independent registered public accountants.

    Eleven directors stood for election to the Board and all were re-elected by substantial margins. The eleven include: Chairman and Chief Executive Officer David Abney, Rodney Adkins, Michael Burns, Bill Johnson, Candace Kendle, Ann Livermore, Rudy Markham, Sandy Randt, John Stankey, Carol Tomé, and Kevin Warsh.

    The appointment of Deloitte & Touche to serve as the company’s independent auditors for 2016 also was ratified by a wide margin.

    On other matters, shareowners did not approve a shareholder proposal that would have required additional disclosure concerning the company's government affairs and lobbying activities in excess of current requirements. The Board, which exercises independent oversight of all UPS lobbying and political contributions and expenditures, had recommended a “No” vote on the grounds that UPS already has effective policies for the appropriate disclosure and oversight of the company's lobbying and political activities.

    UPS shareowners also rejected a shareholder proposal that sought to require the Board to reduce the voting power of Class A stock from 10 votes per share to one vote per share.

    Additionally, the shareholder proposal regarding Holy Land Principles was not approved, given the company has existing policies to promote fair employment practices, equal employment opportunity and diversity in the workplace globally.