Why is our freight already dropping off?

I finally made it to top pay a couple months ago and here it is Sept and the freight is slowing down bigtime,our competitors are still busy,we dont even have enough trucks when it is busy,maintenance on the dinosaurs we do have is nonexistant,I've been driving trucks for more than 27 yrs and have never seen such poor equipment.Were alway's hearing about the UPS "BRAND"yet even small pkg.drivers have commented on how crappy the equipment looks,it's embarassing!is it like this everywhere or just in the northeast.

HomeDelivery

in my part of NJ, all i see are nice and clean and somewhat new package cars running about... so it may just be your little state not getting it's share of the operating funds or mis-management with your fleet mechanics/ personnel

<shrugs>

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

in my part of NJ, all i see are nice and clean and somewhat new package cars running about... so it may just be your little state not getting it's share of the operating funds or mis-management with your fleet mechanics/ personnel

<shrugs>

The OP is UPS Freight (formerly Overnite). It takes a while to bring a crap company in to the major leagues.

UPS Freight was the first to throw out the rate increase. Slowdown is partially an outcome of that increase. Other part has to do with pricing strategy. Company feels as if we can be higher than competition on accounts. Our operational capabilities are still second tier but management thinks we have made the big league. Prepare for further slowdown before reality sets in with Richmond.

witheeze

Jack-knife