Would love to work for the Teamsters

8000Shelf

What would be the natural transition into working for the teamsters as a full time driver?

Stewart, Trustee, BA, on up?

I've wanted to start going to our monthly meeting but it's an hour and a half away

on a Sunday. However, I'm sure it would help to get know the folks in my local

also.

Any advice

is appreciated.

PT Car Washer

What would be the natural transition into working for the teamsters as a full time driver?

I've wanted to start going to our monthly meeting but it's an hour and a half away

also.

Any advice

is appreciated.
Start off as a PT package handler for a few years and wait for a FT package car opening.

8000Shelf

I am a full time driver and have 14 years as a Teamster Member. Just curious if any of our

resident union people can give their experience on how they actually became a teamster

employee (not a UPS employee working as a union member). Forgive me for not seeing a clear

answer to my question in a decade and a half.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

8000----to be blunt, if you are hesitant to drive 90 minutes to attend a meeting, you are not really cut out for all of the demands of a union position. Our BA's regularly put on 1,000 or more miles each month while performing their duties. They are on call 24/7. They are well compensated but the rigors of the job often outweigh the perks.

If you are serious about pursuing this you should start out as a steward. This will give you a very small sampling of what a BA goes through on a daily basis.

Ask yourself if you would be able to tell a member who has been fired that the termination was justified and that there is little to nothing that the union can do on their behalf.

Takeback251