Yelled At By a Sup for Doing What Another Sup Told Me To.

Soupy

Hey guys, this is my first time posting.
I've been loading trucks for just about a month now and have gotten pretty confident. Sorry for the long first post in advance.

Today I was tossing a bag of smalls on top of a wall that was behind the current wall I was building. My Sup was in the trailer with me, I was aware of he was there but was unaware that I was doing anything wrong. See only a couple of days prior I was in the exact same trailer in the exact same situation but a different supervisor was with me and he had literally instructed me to do that to maximize space used.

However this time I got the business. My supervisor yelled at me and told me if he ever saw me doing it again he would fire me on the spot. I apologized told him why I was doing it, but told him it was completely my bad and I understood that.

He then told me my other Sup was a dumb A** and that I was being disrespectful by throwing a bag.

This is now the third time I have been yelled at for doing something one Sup told me to do infront of another Sup. I know this is supposed to be a job for my union steward, but I'm not union yet and really don't know what to do.

I feel like I'm caught in a weird power struggle between these two sups and could really use some advice.
-Thanks in advance

GenericUsername

Go to the full time sup of your shift and ask them what they want exactly. This way when one of the sups under him/her tell you the wrong thing, you can tell them that you spoke with the FT sup and you're working as they've instructed you and to take matters up with them if something is wrong.

PASinterference

Yes, I know I'm working late.
I wouldnt worry about it. Conflicting directives are the cornerstone of ups policy. The 2 sups are just establishing a pecking order and you are caught in the middle. Have some fun with it and plot them against each other. Then sit back and enjoy the cat fight.

Wally