8 Hour request ?

ZIPPD

Robert
I am a swing driver, about 1 1/2 years. I requested an 8 hour day a couple of months ago. No one else had requested that day 8 hrs. When I went in to the depot i had not only the regular drives work about 80 stops, I had 120 stops for the day. ( Not out of the norm at our center. adding extra work to swing drivers ) I was told there was nothing they could do . I had to do it.
What are your thoughts?

LU710

I am a swing driver, about 1 1/2 years. I requested an 8 hour day a couple of months ago. No one else had requested that day 8 hrs. When I went in to the depot i had not only the regular drives work about 80 stops, I had 120 stops for the day. ( Not out of the norm at our center. adding extra work to swing drivers ) I was told there was nothing they could do . I had to do it.
What are your thoughts?

My thoughts are: you requested an 8hr day; if it was granted by the contract; then they agreed to releive you from duty after 8hrs of work. Work your 8 hrs. and go home and let them figure out what to do with the extra stops.

danlin

Make sure your request is put in within the allotted time. It differs in some supplements, I believe its 24 hours in the central states. Then at 2:30 on the day of the request notify the center that you won't be finishing your route in 8 hours" punch to punch hour lunch". Also throw in the word "Missed" they hate that. At our center they have been good at granting 8Hr requests hell one guy asks just about every other Friday! Don't let them feed you any of that rhetoric about 8 hours planned day on their report. My time study is so far off I run 2-3 hrs over allowed everyday!! And I think I am one of our best drivers. Figure out your average stops per hour and multiply by 8 and don't forget to count your pickups. eg....15 stops per hour X 8 =120 ergo I have 29 pics so 120-29=91 stops nothing more or less and hope your freeloader has his head outta the sand that day. (we are still not on PAS he he).