Southern Region Supplement Question

Denreed

I have been a cover driver for four of the seven years that I have been with UPS. My primary classification is a pre-loader. Within those fours years, on numerous occasions, I have been asked to drive a full route. Three times this past week i've worked 14 hour days. More than I can count, i've been called upon to give air help, working over the 1 hour minimum of what my question is about.
In the Southern Region Supplement, ARTICLE 58 – HOURS OF WORK AND OVERTIME, SECTION 3 – COMPENSATION FOR WORK IN DIFFERENT CLASSIFICATIONS it states:
"An employee may be required to work in more than one (1) job classification within any workday, but shall be compensated at the rate applicable to the highest rated classification for all work performed during that day. In order to qualify, an employee shall work a minimum of one (1) hour in the higher classification. This provision shall not apply to the occasional spotting or shifting of equipment at the operating Center. When an employee is requested to work in the lower rated classification, he/she shall receive his/her regular rate of pay for all such lower-rated work performed."
Does this apply to me?
I have never been compensated at the higher rate for the job performed. I always get paid for the pre-load rate for the hours; then the higher cover and air rates are paid for the hours I perform those duties.
Shouldn't I get paid the higher rate for those pre-load hours?
I brought this to the attention to my union steward but he claims that this doesn't apply to me.
If not me than who?
I've never filed a grievance for anything, I've always followed the advice of my steward, but I'm not to sure about this one.
Thanks for any insight you can give, this is by first post.

By The Book