A Long Hard Road

jack4ever

UPS4Lifer
Hello Brown Cafe,

It has been years since I posted on this forum, but now at the turn of the tide, this is the only place where I can go, that I know some people will understand what I have to say.

I know there are many long timers at UPS. Some guys work twenty to thirty years, some longer. What I'm about to say may not seem that special to them, then again, maybe it will. I started at UPS in 2006. It was intended to be a college job. I know guys that started at UPS with the same intent, they ended up as lifers. Many of my co-workers told me that I was going to be a lifer. I told them they were wrong, and they were.

I quit UPS. You see, I was going to college during my tenure at UPS, and I graduated with a degree in Computational Mathematics. I am now moving to California to develop video games for a living, where I will sit on my butt all day, and never lift anything up to 70lbs. Video games are my true passion in life, not these brown boxes that I've seen so many of. It is a big relief to be leaving UPS. I must have handled four or five million packages while at UPS, maybe more.

My whole body aches. It started aching from my first day at UPS. It has never stopped. Even now, it is only recovering. UPS was the hardest job I ever had in my life. I was a part-time package handler in two facilities. One was a major hub where I worked as a loader then a sorter. One was a small center in a small college town, where I worked as a Local Sorter, which was a combination of Loader/Scanner/Metro Unload, depending on the day.