Amazon

sporh

Hey, Im new to this site. Im a driver in a small center with about 40 drivers. Currently, amazon is constructing a distribution center in our town due to be finished by this fall. My center manager has been in weekly meetings about the effects this will have on our center. We are all hoping it will bring more jobs. Supposedly, this will be one of amazons bigger centers(over a million sq ft). Any idea what we should expect?

over9five

Staff member
If it's like CHEMA, even tho it's in your town all Feeder work will be given to other buildings.... even other states before you'll get it.

Harry Manback

Robot Extraordinaire
We got an amazon dist. center and guess what. No new jobs and routes still get cut everyday. When it comes to Big Mama Brown, you can't expect common sense to prevail. In fact, you should always expect the opposite.

cino321

Although I do not have a Amazon distribution center where I live, I think it is safe to assume it will bring a few minor changes to your building in terms of delivering returns back to the distribution center and maybe a pick up here or there on someone's route.

It will probably bring some new jobs to the town which always a good thing.

hondo

promoted to mediocrity
Like everyone else is saying, probably little change to the Package Center. However, there should be feeder openings. If your local practice is to allow bidding into feeders @ the affected Hub, and you're interested, sign up.

Jackburton

Gone Fish'n
You know what you get when Amazon opens a distribution center in your state, taxes. If an internet shipper such as Newegg or Amazon have a center in that state and you live in that state you will now have to pay taxes when ordering from that shipper. The same goes for a single retail store such as an Apple store here in Ga.

AMTK54