Any advice to make it as a Full-Time Driver from the more experienced drivers?

Brownpride816

I am on my second week of training for a permanent FT driver, my Sup says i am doing good. I am really trying to make it. any advice?. I have been doing great, I get all my air on time, I am getting better with my deliveries (area knowledge) and my pick ups are always good, for some reason the part that I am not good at at all is getting out the building! the carts are parked so damn close I am afraid Im going to scrape my vehicle with the one next to me, mt sup always helps me and other drivers laugh at me. how can i get better?

thank you .

and my respect to all of you, driving is no joke.

Ouch

Let them laugh. Dont let someones arrogance laugh you out of a job. Dont do the bad habits your training supervisor showed you. He can get away with cheating the system you on the other can not.

Jackburton

Gone Fish'n
Screw them, let them laugh if they want but hitting anything while making book is a sure fire way to be disqualified. Keep doing what your doing and don't worry about what they think, they aren't going to pay your bills if you get sent back to the hub. You're doing just fine, keep it between the lines, doing what your doing.

opie

I'm just an air driver, but I used to have the same problems. Just inch your car forward, and pull your mirrors out as soon as you have room. And use your mirrors to see your way out. I've seen guys grind the sides of their truck on their way out, even break a mirror.

downtime8763

My advice is to not let your self get into a rut as that's when thing can happen. Do the methods work smart not FAST and remember work as if you have to do this for THIRTY years. Retirement is what you make of it ! :)