Do you need customer service skills to drive?

Aerosion

As in does knowing how to deal with people benefit you when you become a driver? Or do you just dump the packages to the people, get the signature, and move on? Do you have to talk to people, and do you get into some situations, is what I'm trying to ask.

mdups

I have been a driver for two years now. I covered all kinds of routes for the first 2 years and now have a pretty heavy comm. route, and customer service skills help immensely. We have a stranglehold on most of my route because of the customer service of the guy that was before me, and I try very hard to keep it that way.
Also saw guys that started with me who have a miserable time because they have no customer skills and are constantly in trouble.

code5

When I train a new driver and they have the attitude that all we do is drive a truck and carry packages, I know they are not going to last very long.

Customer service is a must, if you can't handle it effectively, your not a very good driver...simply put.

Big Babooba

Not only do you need customer service skills, you need a good personality. An even temperament always helps because you will not always deal with easy to please customers.

brownrodster

Or do you just dump the packages to the people, get the signature, and move on?

Exactly.

However, you need to be at least pleasant and skilled at 3 world conversations. But I'm a master of dumping stuff and running. It's very rare that a customer even learns my name. I like this job a lot. But I would never want my own route. It makes avoiding customer contact much easier.

Exactly.

However, you need to be at least pleasant and skilled at 3 world conversations. But I'm a master of dumping stuff and running. It's very rare that a customer even learns my name. I like this job a lot. But I would never want my own route. It makes avoiding customer contact much easier.