moving

I am a full time driver in PA, but i am looking to move to Texas, why wont UPS allow employees to transfer, the only way i can do this is to quit and try to be rehired in Texas. Lose my 13 years of seniority... anyone have anything to say?????????

dilligaf

IN VINO VERITAS
Sorry Down, as far as I know Western Conference is the only one that allows transfers and only within the Western Conference.

brownmonster

Man of Great Wisdom
I am a full time driver in PA, but i am looking to move to Texas, why wont UPS allow employees to transfer, the only way i can do this is to quit and try to be rehired in Texas. Lose my 13 years of seniority... anyone have anything to say?????????

There would be no drivers left in the Snow Belt.

Catatonic

Nine Lives

Since this does not apply to non-union employees, I assume this has something to do with setting a precedence for future requests. It's unfortunate.

evilleace

I think it is because if someone had been waiting 6-7 yrs. to drive and you came in and bumped them out it would cause a pretty big sit jmo.

Re-Raise

How would like it if a group of drivers moved to your area and bumped you out of a job? It would be a nightmare for UPS to try to accommodate every one of their employees who wanted to transfer, and unfair to the local part-timers.

Maybe you could convince one of the Texas drivers to move to PA then it could be an even swap.
Don't look at me, I don't wanna swap.
Is there any reason you want to move to Texas (other than the obvious) or is it from a need to move here? Any particular area?

helenofcalifornia

I worked in a hub for many years out here. I was the top seniority PTer, earning driver's wages (pre-1981 contract) working as many hours or as few hours as I wanted. This was when UPS was using utility drivers all the time so I would be driving and earning as much as regular drivers.