Planned Day

MD Dan

This is a question for any IE people out there.

When a customer ships a parcel they tell our system how much it weighs(or we couldn't bill them) and in many cases how big (cubic inches) it is as well. As a driver I can tell you that weight and size are two major factors in how long it takes me to deliver any given parcel. Here comes the question??? Why is this information not used in: dispatch--so that we can be accurately dispatched with no more than the amount of work that can be done in 9.5 hrs(something that my local management is VERY interested in), and in the final calculation of our planned day? Giving this kind of info to local management would seem to be a no-brainer as it would help them to most efficiently use the manpower and physical resources available to them. Can someone help me understand why a 40+Billion dollar a year company that measures everything to death does not use this information that we collect daily from our customers?!?!

ups79

When a customer ships a parcel they tell our system how much it weighs(or we couldn't bill them) and in many cases how big (cubic inches) it is as well. As a driver I can tell you that weight and size are two major factors in how long it takes me to deliver any given parcel. Here comes the question??? Why is this information not used in: dispatch--so that we can be accurately dispatched with no more than the amount of work that can be done in 9.5 hrs(something that my local management is VERY interested in), and in the final calculation of our planned day? Giving this kind of info to local management would seem to be a no-brainer as it would help them to most efficiently use the manpower and physical resources available to them. Can someone help me understand why a 40+Billion dollar a year company that measures everything to death does not use this information that we collect daily from our customers?!?!