Preloaders physical aspects

KingofBrown

hello, i'm a part time employee at UPS. I work in preload and sometimes at local sort. i've been working for seven years now. last night my immediate supervisor told me I had to cut my hair and that I needed to shave, too. and then my center supervisor told me the same thing. on the seven years working I've always been able to have my hair or beard as I would want, since I never work to attend customers or as a driver or nothing, i just handle packages. now, my question is: are part time employees, working inside the center, "with no contact with the outside world," required to shave or cut their hair? and what should I do next time my sup tells me to shave or cut my hair? thanks a lot.

BROWN430

You do not have to do any of that. Are there any co-workers that have visible tatoos? If so tell your sup to go bother them. Never heard that one before. Talk to your union steward. Sounds like B.S.

FAVREFAN

hello, i'm a part time employee at UPS. I work in preload and sometimes at local sort. i've been working for seven years now. last night my immediate supervisor told me I had to cut my hair and that I needed to shave, too. and then my center supervisor told me the same thing. on the seven years working I've always been able to have my hair or beard as I would want, since I never work to attend customers or as a driver or nothing, i just handle packages. now, my question is: are part time employees, working inside the center, "with no contact with the outside world," required to shave or cut their hair? and what should I do next time my sup tells me to shave or cut my hair? thanks a lot.
As far as I know they can only ask you to tie it up or back if it is a safety hazard. They can not make you cut it or shave. Make sure you tell your union steward about it. If it continues to happen ask your steward if you can file a harrasement grievance against the sup. Good luck.

browned out