Adoption

moreluck

golden ticket member
Interesting. Do you remember how you felt when you fully understood your circumstances? Trying to get a handle on this subject before it gets to be a crisis.
Looking back....I would've appreciated knowing the truth before I was 12 !!

I know I had a good upbringing and I'm lucky that way.

One of the big downfalls is dealing with lack of family medical history. Dealing with cancer since '08, so much of what we need is family medical history of which I have no knowledge. Life's more of a crap shoot for the adopted.

1BROWNWRENCH

Amatuer Malthusian
My daughter knows now at 7 and has since about 5, but I wonder if she fully grips the magnitude of it. I worry in later years that she is going to break my heart by wanting to reject me imagining things would be better by seeking out her biological mother. I am confident I'm a pretty good father (which she would not have had at all), but you know how irrational adolescents can be.:brokenheart:

moreluck

golden ticket member
My daughter knows now at 7 and has since about 5, but I wonder if she fully grips the magnitude of it. I worry in later years that she is going to break my heart by wanting to reject me imagining things would be better by seeking out her biological mother. I am confident I'm a pretty good father (which she would not have had at all), but you know how irrational adolescents can be.:brokenheart:

I never felt the need to uncover things. I knew a sketchy version of my birth parents and never had any interest in having anything to do with them.

I looked at my adoptive parents as my only parents.....and that's all that mattered to me. Every kid is different and I'm sure you are doing a great job wih yours. Your time and love is all that's needed.

1BROWNWRENCH

Amatuer Malthusian