Calling off sick

bailey2227

Hi, I am working as a part-time sorter. I am wondering how calling off sick works? I just passed my 30 working days of probation. When I went through training the supervisor said you can basically call off whenever? I was wondering if this is really true?

They told us in training that once you are in the Union it is basically next to impossible to get let go? Please don't think I am the type to call off on a weekly basis or every friday or monday. I just want to know what the real truth is behind this.

I am a full-time college student as well. Since we don't get sick time if I want to call off 1-2 times a month or whatever the case may be is it really true they can't do anything?

Any help is greatly appreciated

drewed

Shankman
Its hard to fire a union member, by no means impossible and the younger and more inexperienced they are the easier it is.....
I would sit down and tell your supervisor the situation, Im going to bust my ass for you
I also have school and thats the priority and on occasion i may need a day off sometime... im assuming youd know a couple days in advance, due to hw schedules and test schedules? well make sure he knows in advance too.

bailey2227

Thanks for the response. I understand that if I know I am going to need a day or two off in advance I should let them know. What I am asking is more of when you need off a few hours in advance. I know the contract says to call off no less than 1 hour before the start of your shift. However, since we don't get sick time. I am wondering how that would work. I guess I should just go with what the supervisor said during training and if that becomes a issue the other 8 people who were in training can back me on what we were told.

drewed

Shankman
No, dont listen to that, its jackassed thinking.