FedEx Express/UPS Question

Marston2020

I am currently a FedEx Express Driver part time but would like to work for UPS as a driver. I went for an interview at UPS for a package handler position but the hiring manager offered me a part time supervisor position and thought I'd be a good fit. He said I could eventually move into a driver position even though it's a non union position. Does this sound fishy to you guys or have people been promoted to driving from the part time supervisor position? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!

Operational needs

Virescit Vulnere Virtus
I am currently a FedEx Express Driver part time but would like to work for UPS as a driver. I went for an interview at UPS for a package handler position but the hiring manager offered me a part time supervisor position and thought I'd be a good fit. He said I could eventually move into a driver position even though it's a non union position. Does this sound fishy to you guys or have people been promoted to driving from the part time supervisor position? Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks!
Don’t do it! Think of a PT sup as more like a Team Leader or SAL at FedEx. You’ll get it from both sides.

burrheadd

KING Of GIFS

You’re being played

He just can’t pull a driver job for you out of his arse

ManInBrown

No chance they’ll let you move from PT sup to driver. They just tell you that. I know a feeder driver that was able to do it 15 years ago. PT sup to package but I don’t think its common anymore.

Your best bet is casual or seasonal package car driver to getting hired on after. Really your only shot. Or package handler and put your name on the list. Depending on where you work the list could be very long.

Underallowed306

It is a possibility, but not a guaranteed path to driving. It’s a thankless job with limited opportunities for advancement. There are many more benefits to being in an hourly union position.

542thruNthru

He's lying to you.

Rutherford B Hays