Peak Driving - How to get through the first two weeks...

Discussion in 'UPS Discussions' started by brownrecluse, Nov 2, 2007.

1. brownrecluse

brownrecluse Member

Greetings. Newbie here, fresh in from Service Provider training :cool:. This is my first peak driving season w/UPS. Our instructor indicated that the first couple of weeks as a new package car driver can be frustrating. Would any of you veteran drivers care to offer any advise on surviving the first couple of weeks? Thanks is advance!

2. rod

rod retired and happy

Actually the first couple of decades as a pkg car driver can be frustrating:) Hang in there

3. Leftinbuilding

Leftinbuilding Active Member

Protrucker, I revived the thread 'Survival Tips" for you. Some good advice offered.

4. DS

DS Fenderbender

My advice is to do it right the first time.If you run into a problem in the diad that you cant figure out.prerecord the stop and ask when you get back to the building.Frustrating could be putting it mildly your first couple of days alone,bewildering describes it better.It gets better with time.I learned my first month its unwise to put cans of paint on the shelves.

5. diesel96

diesel96 New Member

You ain't seen nothin yet Pro...just wait till the :poop:"poop" hits the fan in mid to late Dec...that's peak

6. brownrecluse

brownrecluse Member

Thanks to you all!

7. Dirty Savage

Dirty Savage Paranoid Android

Don't exactly know what your circumstances are, ie. if you have your own route or are an air driver etc. But my only advice for you is to get yourself a good map and study it. If you are like me and are terrible with numbers then take ten minutes to go through your stops and write them down then plot them on your map. That way you can visualize your trace and it makes things go much smoother.

8. brownrecluse

brownrecluse Member