Returning to work with permanent restrictions

UPSGUY12

Does anybody have any personal experience with going back to work, after an on the job injury, with permanent weight restrictions-(mine is 45#). I'm a full time driver -8 yrs PT & 12 yrs driving. Can they create an article 22 job for me?

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

We had a driver who had a bad habit of hitting things (3 Tier 3's in one year) and the Company and Union worked together to create a 22.3 job just for her. No one else can bid on it and it will be eliminated when she separates or retires.

I would hope that they would work with a 20 year employee.

UPSGUY12

We had a driver who had a bad habit of hitting things (3 Tier 3's in one year) and the Company and Union worked together to create a 22.3 job just for her. No one else can bid on it and it will be eliminated when she separates or retires.

I would hope that they would work with a 20 year employee.
Yeah, me too, thanks for the info

NonDeliverOtherMissed

Have to go to work doc and get cleared by them. You can either do the job or you can't. If you got a perm. weight restriction looks like back inside you go to small sort. If they do create a job for you, good luck still being liked by your coworkers instead of looking like a :censored2: sniffer.

UPSGUY12

Have to go to work doc and get cleared by them. You can either do the job or you can't. If you got a perm. weight restriction looks like back inside you go to small sort. If they do create a job for you, good luck still being liked by your coworkers instead of looking like a :censored2: sniffer.
Talked with the union, they said UPS will accommodate my weight restrictions, one way or another, as long as I file an ADA form.

NonDeliverOtherMissed

Yeah what a jerk! Getting hurt on the job and hoping he still has a career after 20 years with the company.

Maybe people should mind their own damn business. This company would be a lot better off.