Runners......

therookie

I just don't understand. I am a driver on Long Island where we now have a lay-off list everyday. Friends of mine are on this list and are at home not making a dime. I saw one of my friends loading trucks and getting 4 hours a day. Needless to say these are tough times and its a sad situation for some of our union brothers. With all that in mind.... I look at the dispatch computer on Friday and there are 3 or 4 loads going out with 200+ stops. The runners who have these huge loads are all getting in around 1600/1700..... all the while they are complaining about how they are being "screwed". Why don't they understand that if they worked this job correctly, the stop count would come down???? If 4 loads of 200+ stops each lost 40 stops one of our union brothers is back on the road. This is the sad part...... It's like every man for themselves out here. And Management will NEVER follow on of these guys. I bet if they did they would find the bulkhead open, the car always running, No belt, etc. No instead they follow a driver who follows their methods......
Any thoughts on this?????
Is this going on in other centers?

Big Babooba

With telematics, management won't have to follow anybody to find the bulkhead door open the engine running at stops, the seatbelt not being used etc.

NHDRVR

The runners who have these huge loads are all getting in around 1600/1700..... all the while they are complaining about how they are being "screwed".

Sorry to hear that. We sort of police ourselves, in a way, when it comes to rooks running and gunning. BTW, I completely sympathize with you about the layoffs. When you have a family how is part-time work going to cut it?