Advice for a new and concerned employee!

chief92

Hello all,

I started working the preload shift at a local sort about a week ago and I have a few questions. I figured this would be a good place to ask and hopefully get some good answers.

First off, I kind of feel like I got the classic "bait and switch" from the UPS HR rep. The job posting was for what I think is the typical part time AM preload. It said the pay was $9.50/hr and it mentioned the various benefits that are available (health insurance, 401K, tuition assistance, etc.). I applied online and then when I got to the interview she said that the position is actually only seasonal (about 2.5 months), pays only $8.50/hr and there are no benefits. I am a college student and I really need the job so I took it even though the compensation/benefits were not what I expected. However, after working for over a week I feel like the pay is far too low for the hours and the physicality. I am really not interested in the benefits other than possible tuition assistance but $8.50 for that kind of work and the early morning hours seems ridiculous. Is this normal or am I being taken advantage of?