Anyone ever had a hernia????

Coldworld

60 months and counting
I thought your balls got as large as golfballs, I being serious here? Brown, when you lifted something I didnt hurt at all??

scratch

Least Best Moderator
Staff member
I have had three. The first one hurt for a few moments when it first happened. I thought I just had strained a muscle, I didn't realize it actually tore. Pain went away, I was a new driver 25 years ago and didn't file an injury report that day. When the bulge showed up a week later, my Center Manager told me I couldn't prove I did it at work, even though I was on a heavy industrial route handling a thousand boxes a day. Workman's Comp denied, out about eight weeks with no pay.

Second one was the other side. Didn't feel any sharp pain like the first, just thought it was a sore muscle. No injury report filed that day, claim denied. center manager was real nice, he let me move some of my vacations up so I got two or three checks. Credit card bills got high just like the last time.

Third one was about three years ago, about eighteen years since the one before. I felt a pain in my side after picking up a 50 lb box too fast. I immediantely called the office to report it and filed a report that night. I had retorn one of my old hernias. No problems with Liberty Mutual, I started getting those $450 a week checks in no time. I was out five weeks before I came back. So moral of the story, report all injuries that day, disregard your management team trying to talk you out of it.

over9five

Staff member
I had one. No pain at all. It was discovered at my DOT physical, and my card was pulled that night.
Was operated on, 3 weeks off, 3 weeks light duty.
Covered by comp. I got one call from the company nurse to ask me how I thought I got it. "Lifting heavy boxes", I said.
Wasn't a problem.

backinbrown

respect my authority