Bad Union Stewards

hyena

I was wondering if any other people out there have had bad Union Stewards who dont stick up for the contract, and who always side with management. I am always willing to work problems out but my steward always seems to push me to change my mind about a grievance with management right by his side. I would appreciate any comments you may have or stories. I really would like for him to go on his way and let someone else get in there and stick up for the people instead of blowing everyone off. Whenever anyone files he complains saying hes about to give up being Steward but he still stays. Its funny because im a newbie only been here a couple years and im learning the contract and ill quote articles and then hell go look them up. Also when are reelections held?

DS

Fenderbender
I think ....It happens a lot in smaller centers when you have nobody else that wants to be a steward.Maybe you should step up.
hyena for steward!

soberups

Pees in the brown Koolaid
I dont know anything about your situation, so I cant speak to it specifially.

What I can say, as a steward myself, is that there is a common misconception about the role of a shop steward. Our role is to be neutral, be a witness, and make sure the contract is upheld. I am not a defense attorney. I dont have a magic shop steward wand that I can wave about to solve problems with. I cant force management to do something they have decided not to do.

A lot of times, being a shop steward also means giving the employee the bad news that the company is right.