Close call, What would you have done?

Wimlore

Hello, I am a new driver. Had an incodent that was spooky. I am sure there are much scarier situations.

What happend: I left one car length of space in front while at a 4-way stop sign behind someone. They thought I was giving them room to parrellel park. From my vantage point, this did not seam possible, and would have resulted in collision. I honked. She moved foward. Then, attempted to park a second time. This time I honked louder. An old lady waved at the driver backing in to me but she did not notice. Two hazards were approaching from north and south. Southern hazard was further, and I just wanted to make a right turn at the stop, which was facing south. I pulled out into the oncoming lane, and made the right turn around the lady backing into me and was a half a block distance from the oncoming hazard who was approaching the intersection.

Here is a diagram.

IncodentDiagram.jpg

I am guessing, in the future: If there is a spot next to me, I must close the gap enough so that it is NO chance of them being able to park. My mistake was I gave her enough space that made her THINK she could park.

If I made the wrong choice let me know! ;)
IncodentDiagram.jpg

stink219

I had a hard time following. But, my advice is to always wait for other people to make the stupid decisions. We don't only get paid to deliver cardboard, we are now paid to avoid dangerous situations.

104Feeder

Phoenix Feeder
I would have thrown on the high beams, hazards, parking brake, all the while wailing on the horn until she rethinks her parallel park move.

purplesky

Hello, I am a new driver. Had an incodent that was spooky. I am sure there are much scarier situations.