FMLA Question for those who have used it

Ghost in the Darkness

I have never used FMLA before so I was hoping someone could clarify a few things for me. Long story short is I'm on vacation this week already for the birth of my second son. We ended up having complications during childbirth which required an emergency c-section and additional surgery for my wife. My baby is doing great and my wife is on the road to recovery but I know she isn't going to be well enough to care for the baby on her own when I would be going back to work Monday.
I have only requested 1 week. If I use FMLA to take an extra week to help her out do I have use vacation/optional/sick days I haven't used yet? Do I have a choice on what I have to use? Do I forfeit a future week of bid vacation or would it simply be unpaid when I take it? I have personal and optional days that could cover the week but since they don't seem to feel we should be able to use personal days anymore then I figured FMLA would help me get them used or even an unpaid week, doesn't really matter to me. However I am against forfeiting future weeks of vacation that I have bid.

Johney

My understanding of FLMA is you have to use up all but 1 week of vacation before FMLA kicks in. I have never been on it, but that's how I understand it.

UPS Preloader

Before qualifying for FMLA you would be required to use you optional/sick days first as well as most of your vacation time. (They allow you to keep 1 week.)

Ghost in the Darkness

Anyone know that since the leave I requested is only 1 week and less than my remaining accrued time if I have the option of using optional and sick days vs vacation.

raceanoncr

To my understanding, FMLA only addresses whole week vacations, not single option or sick days. However...