Hello from South Jersey. Nervous about starting.

JerseyJeff84

Good evening all. I grew up with UPS "in my blood," as my Dad has been there for 31 years. Started as a driver helper in January of 1989 and then was brought on into the hub's body shop, as a detailer. Once I was old enough, I worked as a driver helper on three separate occasions.

With that said, I am now 35, going on 36 this Summer and after a chain of life events(laid off from former job of seven years), I had my UPS office interview last week and now have new-hire orientation on Tuesday. The HR rep who did the tour said that we would be chosen to either be a loader, unloader, or sorter.

I am nervous because I am out of shape. Not fat, just haven't been in the gym for three months since mine had its doors put on hold due to the pandemic. I've heard horror stories about being a handler at UPS but the HR rep swears that as long as you are always lifting a package, the Twilight(my shift) managers don't ride you. I worked at Amazon, where our packages were counted and the number per hour written on a white board for all to see. They fired you if you didn't hit a certain number. Is UPS the same?

Thanks so much for your advice. I doubt anyone on here is familiar with it, but for what it's worth, I will be working out of the Lawnside, NJ hub. About 15 miles from the Philadelphia Airport hub.

Last edited:

Ancient Alien

UPS Vacation
Good evening all. I grew up with UPS "in my blood," as my Dad has been there for 31 years. Started as a driver helper in January of 1989 and then was brought on into the hub's body shop, as a detailer. Once I was old enough, I worked as a driver helper on three separate occasions.