I was re-hired at UPS, some questions.

BryantheLion

I leef deengs up n boot dem down
I've been there for about a month so far, I worked as a package handler for a year in 2008 and decided after several jobs, that this one was the one I liked the most. I'm actually working in the same PD, with the same people and they all remember me. Just today, my sup told me that I got my seniority back. I asked him if that can actually happen and he said my full time sup told him to let me know. He said he'll look at my check tomorrow to see if there are any sick days/vacation time on there, etc.

Now on to the questions:

I'm in the middle of peak season now, so the days I'm working now don't count towards my seniority, I was told after Christmas is when Day 1 starts. I've paid my union dues in the past, but will I have to pay them again?

Can I apply for the position driving the brown car? (I know it takes years to actually get accepted and such), but if my seniority IS back, I'll have one year with the company, so is it possible to apply for that position?

Throughout that year, I got my 90 day $1 raise and another $1 for learning the pick off, I assume none of that will get factored in? (Lol, wishful thinking).

Benefits. Would I have to wait another full year for the benefits?

Last, but not least..I've heard of a contract going on that will raise the wage of package handlers to $10.00/hr. Is that confirmed or is the decision yet to be made?

I plan on asking all of these questions to my sup tomorrow, but I figured I ask here just to see if anyone can give me a heads up/a bit more information about it.

upschuck

$10 confirmed. No 90 day raise now. You said day 1 is first day after Christmas. So I assume that means you will have to wait for all benefits.

You can sign any bid you wish. I doubt past seniority is back.

Hope you got a withdrawal card when you left, or you'll probably have to pay init fees again.

BryantheLion

I leef deengs up n boot dem down