IamFedExGround

MrFedEx

Engorged Member
Hi, my name is "Ike", and I have been a FedEx Ground driver for 2 years. The pay is lousy and there are no benefits, but it's the best I can do right now because there aren't very many jobs out there. I make a flat $650 per week, and when I started this job I was told it would be about 40 hours per week. I quickly found out it was more like 60 hours per week, and sometiimes it's more than that because when I'm extra heavy on deliveries my day is sometimes 15 hours long. I've been told that's illegal, but my contractor told me to keep my mouth shut and just finish off the clock or he'd find someone else to do my job. I got the message real quick.

My truck has a lot of problems, but my contractor tells me not to mention them on my vehicle inspection report because he doesn't want to pay for expensive repairs. My stepvan is about 25 years old, and I know it is as old as RPS because there are still old RPS stickers on the inside. It pulls badly when braking and I smell exhaust fumes inside all the time but I'm afraid to write any problems up because I could lose my job. My handbrake won't hold all the way on hills, so I either park and walk up or turn the wheels into the curb and hope for the best. I bring a piece of 4x4 with me to use as a wheel chock.