laidoff need help!

hefernan

i am a cuurnet pc driver in washington state. I have worked for ups preload for 3 years and driving for almost 1 year. For the first 6 months driving they used me on and off depending on volume. for the last 5 months i have been on day by day layoff which means i call in at start time time and see if they need me if they do i must report to work as normal and they havn't needed me for 3 months so im broke.i cant find another job cause when i call in they might need me. they also (being ups and the union) wont put me back in my old postion on the preload leaving me jobless and in a tough position. also my buildings preload needs help and they have hired 5 new employees while ive been out of work. anyone with any thoughts or refrence to the northwest contract would be appreciated.

thank you,
mike

raceanoncr

Need more info. Are you full-fledged full time driver? Are you locked into friend/T?

It sounds like you are because they are not letting you back into your old position. This would be true if you are a true friend/Ter. What WOULD be true, tho, is this: IF you are a bonifide friend/Ter, you could bump into 2 P/T positions to make up your 40 for the week. If nobody has told you this by now, you should start asking some serious questions yourself.

Again, it sounds like some details need to be cleared up before some concrete advice can be given here, and remember this also: Everywhere is different! You may have different guidelines in your areas supplements. Check you supplements, check your contract.

Oh, you DO have a contract, don't you?

UPSGUY72

I go would go down to your local unemployment office and file a claim tomorrow. So atleast you have a open claim. Here in Ma you can still work PT and collect.