New and confused

I am new to ups and am i package handler (loader). I just finished my week of on floor training, even though i only saw the guy twice. So this Monday will be my first "real" day of work.

We are guaranteed 4.5 hours of work.

My question:
-Cornerstone training was only 4 hours a day so i thought OK thats fine its classroom training, my on floor training started with everyone else at 6:15 and ended around 10:30 just like everyone else i was working with, thats not 4.5 hours i figured OK still training i guess. My union dues and fee were not taken out of the first pay check i got because i was training still maybe?

My main concern, if i am starting and ending the same time everyone else is and the time worked is not 4.5 hours theeen wat happens lol? do i get paid 4.5 hour but only work 4? also do i have to wait until all of my union initiation fee is paid until i am considered "in" the union, until then can they just take advantage of me? :knockedout::knockedout:

JonFrum

Mavrick,

Unfortunately, the part-time daily guarantee is only 3.5 hours. And it's not automatic. If they try to send you home earlier, you have to insist on your 3.5 hour guarantee.

You are covered by the Contract from Day One, but during your probationary period UPS can theoretically fire you for just about any reason, (so long as it isn't illegal,) without the Union protesting.

christian c

The hour guarantee actually varies depending on where you work. I have a 4 hour guarantee. Tell the person that is sending you home yet taht you dont have your hours and see what they say. If you do not speak up you will be taken advantage of and that applies to all areas of UPS. once you make seniority with the union become best friends with you steward.

PT Stewie

"Big Fella"