Noob here, need some advice on my situation

mat422

Ok I'm 22 years old I won't bore you with my life story but I've dealt with anxiety and depression for a long time which has made it hard for me to hold a job. I applied as a package handler because I figured I won't have to deal with customer service and I could just focus on doing a job. Ended up being put on the preload shift. I've only been there about 5 days. During this time they've consistently stuck me on small sort flipping packages label side up for other guys to scan, I don't even know if this is a legitimate job. I've also been put in the sorting aisle, but just for an hour. And also near the end of my shift when things need to be wrapped up helping out preloaders with irregulars, I have no idea what exactly it's called.

What bothers me is I don't feel like they are gonna keep me around. I bust my ass, but today I realized that reaching over the conveyor belt in small sort puts my lower back in a bad position. It's faster that way, but I'm not destroying my lower back for UPS. Supervisors are always telling me to go faster, which contradicts the whole idea of pacing myself. I'm no slacker, but I'm very conscious of my health and I know injuries can sneak up on you later in life. I'm worried they'll lay me off before I reach 40 days which is when I get into the union. During that time I'm not willing to sacrifice my own health for a potential opportunity that I might not even get.

Am I worrying too much?

ups hero