Pension

1989NW

Hello I have been driving for UPS for 16 years and am considering leaving the company due to health issues. My question is what happens to my pension if I leave UPS early before my retirement age? will I receive a partial pension for the 16 years of service that I put in with UPS?

Jones

fILE A GRIEVE!
Staff member
Details depend on your fund but yes, with most pensions you'll get something for your years of service once you reach retirement age. If you're forced to leave due to health issues you might qualify for a disability pension which would be your best option.

DELACROIX

In the Spirit of Honore' Daumier
Hello I have been driving for UPS for 16 years and am considering leaving the company due to health issues. My question is what happens to my pension if I leave UPS early before my retirement age? will I receive a partial pension for the 16 years of service that I put in with UPS?

I believe that those vested years will be obtainable when you reach age 65. Before you leave ask for an estimate, it should explain what you will be getting when you reach the normal retirement age.

Ghost in the Darkness

If you leave before the Butch Lewis bill is implemented it will likely be a lot less than if you can hold out until some changes are made and cuts reversed (all depending on what pension).
A lot of questions remain... % cuts undone (all or partial)... haven't heard about anything done with age requirement in ours (its 55 now it used to be 30 years of service and out without penalty). I guess we will see.
My advice (and your pension likely differs from mine) is hold out as long as possible if you are able to.

BMWMC

B.C. boohoo buster.
One of the many important questions to ask is what definition of under funding are they going to use? "Market" value or actual cash liquidation value.

In New England the pension plan is estimated to be under funded by 5 billion +/-. But, if you use a cash out valuation its almost 15 billion.