PT- Utility driver QUESTIONS

BrownChoice

My question, which can hopefully be answered...

i know it depends on area, but does anyone know if as a part time pre-loader ,
Im also a utility driver that works saturdsys and have been for 1 year.. When i am doing shuttle work, does ANYONE KNOW the correct pay rate? Is it 12.50 or top utility rate?

also,
do the raises we got in february add onto the utility rate of pay if still in progression? Does that matter?
ive looked at contract, read it at least 3 times.. I just need to find out if im getting screwed.. Maybe someone can answer the questions...

​thanks

PT Car Washer

I believe you would be considered an air exception driver under Art. 40. If you are shuttling ground misloads around to regular drivers to deliver just take the money. You should be getting an increase of $.50 after one year of Sat. driving. $13.50 at 18 months and top pay after 24 months. Right now top pay for me is $24.74 plus the $.70 raise after the contract is settled. Another $.70 next August. May sound like peanuts now but you are half way there. One of the best jobs at UPS in my opinion. If you deliver ground or do ground pick ups UPS pays you top driver rate. $32.29 an hour in my area plus the raises. Read Art. 40.

barnyard

KTM rider
You should ask your shop steward and is he/she does not know, ask him/her who would know. That why, the person that knows can ask the other questions to determine if you are an air driver or a ground driver. Big pay difference.

BrownChoice

I asked the shop steward, but he did not know.

my main question is, as a utility driver, did the raise we got in february, should that have added on to the $12.50? Or do you only get raises AFTER the 2 year progression?

UPSGUY72

I asked the shop steward, but he did not know.

my main question is, as a utility driver, did the raise we got in february, should that have added on to the $12.50? Or do you only get raises AFTER the 2 year progression?