Questions from a new Delivery Driver out of West Chester PA regarding UPS as a long term employer

manymikeoh8

I know that the benefits are good, but I wanted to know if its possible to move into a tractor trailer driving position without any prior experience if I worked as a Delivery Driver for a while first. I know it takes 9 months to get benefits, and to become a fulltime driver, but how often and how much are raises? We start out at 21 an hour but at barely 40 hours a week that isnt much.

Thanks!

MyTripisCut

Never bought my own handtruck
I know that the benefits are good, but I wanted to know if its possible to move into a tractor trailer driving position without any prior experience if I worked as a Delivery Driver for a while first. I know it takes 9 months to get benefits, and to become a fulltime driver, but how often and how much are raises? We start out at 21 an hour but at barely 40 hours a week that isnt much.

Thanks!
Yes you can sign a bid for the Feeder Department as a package car driver or 22.4, usually with a minimum of one year safe driving. Then you’ll go to feeder school, one week paid training, one week unpaid to get your CDL. Raises are yearly and takes four years to max out at a over $40 an hour. By the time you get there it will likely be even more money.

BrunoCMarrone

Thanks!