Same seniority date

I have been at ups for five years now.After my first peak five people were rehired on the same day giving all of us the same seniority date. To determine who had more seniority our local said that we have to go by alphabetical last names.So Josh Adams has more seniority than Joe S even though they have the same date. Has anyone come across this at there center and if so what did your local to solve this?

lvgolfer962

along with 2 other drivers and myself we all have the same driving seniority so it then gets kicked down to building seniority. If there was still a tie after that ive heard it comes down to your last name in alphabetical order.

So who gets the full time job, or work that day as driver? I am a cover driver and this guy started driving 4 years after me and now he gets to drive before me.

lvgolfer962

is cover driver a seniority position(have no clue) or are you still both using building seniority? if its building and hes got more, he gets the work unless you've work in a center where they use the contract to wipe their feet on as the come to work. Area knowledge can sometimes supersede seniority depending on who you are/how much the like you

Brownsfan

Why wouldn't a flip off work? Take the four have them flip against one of the other 2, take the winners and have them flip against each other for 1 and 2, and do the same for 3, and 4. It's just like like bcs we need a playoff. I guess tgat makes to much sense. Nevermind

UPSGUY72

I have been at ups for five years now.After my first peak five people were rehired on the same day giving all of us the same seniority date. To determine who had more seniority our local said that we have to go by alphabetical last names.So Josh Adams has more seniority than Joe S even though they have the same date. Has anyone come across this at there center and if so what did your local to solve this?