The Hiring Process

Hello,

I have been googling around about the hiring process for about an hour. I am posting here because I have found conflicting stories about the hiring process on several sites. Also, it seems that the hiring process can vary depending on what state you live in.

I live in Ohio. I applied online. I am 27. I have a bachelor's degree. I live in an economically depressed area (aka, Ohio), and I decided to apply to UPS because it is my understanding that if you do good work, you have the opportunity to advance to full time, driver, etc.

I have a few questions about the hiring process. First, let me describe what I have experienced so far (it isn't a lot).

1) Applied online two or three days ago.
2) Got a call today asking me to show up for a tour and the person on the phone told me what to wear.

So, now for the questions:

1) Does the tour count as the first interview?
2) It is my understanding that after this "first interview," you will have to go through a second, and then a third?
3) Many stories about the interview process involve long waiting periods (2 weeks - 2 months+). Since I am starting this process as the holiday season approaches, can I expect a faster time track?

Any replies would be welcome. I suspect this might be repetitive for those of you that answer newbie questions, but as I said before, I have heard 99 answers to these basic questions. If you could provide advice based on actual experience it would be most appreciated, especially advice recent hires!

-Michael

things2auction

Hello,

I have been googling around about the hiring process for about an hour. I am posting here because I have found conflicting stories about the hiring process on several sites. Also, it seems that the hiring process can vary depending on what state you live in.