Advice For A New Courier

luke

I started a new pick up route ranging from 50-60 stops regularly. Advice? I've never done any work like this before.

!Retired!

I started a new pick up route ranging from 50-60 stops regularly. Advice? I've never done any work like this before.
What sort of advice are you asking for if you've already started the route? Did you get enough training? Have you been able to do 50-60?

hypo hanna

Learn to CYA and never ever stick your neck out trying to be the hero. If it goes well you can expect zero thanks. If it goes bad, you can expect to be written up for it.

UpstateNYUPSer(Ret)

50-60 pickups in a 5 hour window is tight----any delays along the way could cause you to be late bringing your freight back for processing. Run the route as is for a week or so and then see if there are any ways that you can "fine tune" it to make it more efficient. If any stops are not quite ready or want you to come back you should tell them that you will make every effort to do so but that you can't promise anything.

dezguy

Just take your time and be safe. Move at a pace you're comfortable with. If you're getting to pups late, just means you have too much work and your manager needs to adjust your route.

Cactus

Just telling it like it is
Just be safe. Just tell dispatch your not gonna be able to make these xxxxx pickups on time and do it whenever you need to. After a awhile dispatch will have to have a talk with your manager about your workload. Your manager is more likely to listen to them. Managers for the most part are programmed by Memphis not to listen to couriers.

luke

Yeah, this route does blow shaft. However, if I train customers to pull CI's my life would be so much easier. A boat load of obligation that they trust a rookie with. I'll be messaging dispatch often...Lol.

Sent using BrownCafe App

Slick silver