NorCal Driver on workers comp, any info on Long Term disability? Tips?

RoBo

UPS robot no more
Hello all,

I'm a 26 year driver in California, and had my first workers comp injury about 7 months ago. My doctor requested surgery which has been denied twice so this looks like a long road. I don't recall anything in my mountain of paperwork regarding Long term disability should it go that long. I had to get an attorney to get an MRI which shows a need for surgery. I had a couple other surgeries a few years ago on other body parts that I did not claim as work related, because ups always says there is no such thing(as a repetitive injury as mine were) and I assumed I wasn't able to file them as such if I didn't have a specific injury date. Well, my attorney advised me there is such a thing, and as such I am in the process of turning those injuries/surgeries into a workers comp case. As you can imagine, UPS is crying foul.

As far as I know by word of mouth, I will keep my health insurance for one year after my light duty at UPS ended, and my WC benefits will last 2 years. Does this sound correct?

Are there long term benefits that I need to apply for that will kick in after the WC pay ends (should my disability last that long) ?

Any ideas on how much that amounts to, and for how long and if there are any health insurance benefits I could apply for after my one year runs out?

Thanks to anyone with knowledge in this area. I've been so stressed, and I just don't want any surprises.

jumpman23

Oh Yeah
Get a god lawyer for this 1 cause you know just as well as I do all your injuries are from work as they are repetition injuries. Don't back down at all. You play your cards right n have a good lawyer it might be SIANARA from this job forever lol. Back injury im taking it right?

RoBo

UPS robot no more