Swings cover CSA's?

whatnthe

We were told that CSA's would be bidding vacation with the couriers and that the swings would cover a CSA on vacation. WTF:angry:? Has anyone seen this happen before? This can't be the new policy can it?

Goldilocks

We were told that CSA's would be bidding vacation with the couriers and that the swings would cover a CSA on vacation. WTF:angry:? Has anyone seen this happen before? This can't be the new policy can it?

A quick call to Memphis Personel will put a stop to that. They did that for a while at our station until someone made the call and it ended very quick.

Maui

When I worked as a handler we bid vacation with the couriers because couriers generally covered the open positions from vacation. When I worked as a swing at a different location I covered CSAs, but we did not bid vacation together.

The policy is that anyone can work down classification. Swings can basically cover all positions since they are in the highest pay category. They can cover feeder agents, couriers, csa, and handlers. You can not work "up classification" since you are not paid accordingly.

I've worked at 3 locations, one of which is CE network, and never had CSA bid with couriers, but if couriers are covering the position I do not see how this is any different than bidding with handlers.

MrFedEx

Engorged Member

I'd do it, and then just sit there and do basically nothing because I had not been trained to be a CSA. Ask for formal CSA training, and then call HR and tell them you're being put in a position where you are set-up to fail.

Mr. 7

The monkey on the left.
Yeah,
Just b'c you're a swing doesn't mean you know how to run the front counter.
I've never seen one of our swings cover the front counter.

Maui