Thinking about applying for Sunrise (3AM to 8AM) and I have some questions

NI3

I'm fairly new to the job market and I'm considering applying for Sunrise shift at UPS.

The pay is $9.50/hr starting, $10.50 after 3 months and $11/hr + full benefits after one year for employees, full benefits for dependents after 1 1/2 years. I'm a single guy so this isn't a major factor.
I was told by an HR rep that many people are package handlers at night and entrepreneurs during the day and stay at UPS primarily for benefits.

Do I have the opportunity for further raises?

What are the pros and cons of UPS job at this wage compared to similar jobs that aren't as physically demanding with benefits that pay better? (Starbucks, Red Cross, inventory clerk at HVAC place, just to name a few). Is there any benefit to UPS over other jobs that offer $13/hr if I wouldn't be utilizing tuition assistance? I should also mention that I will have to pay $150 or so for Teamsters initiation in installments, and once that's paid up, a monthly due of twice hourly straight rate. I'm told that union wants the dues paid 3 months in advance. Something they emphasized is how little I will be taking home until my initiation is paid off. Is it worth it?

How hard is it to hold pre-load for any lengths of time? I chose pre-load, because it gives me time to do other things during the day and I was told its a "skilled task" that pays a tad bit better (70cents/hr more than loader/unloader)

There are two buildings I'm considering. One is closer to my school, one is closer to home. I have toured both and I would like to know if one building is harder on the body.

One is a smaller building. The pre-load operates with package cars parked facing inwards on both sides on a raised platform. The package comes in on a moving conveyor belt in the middle. When I toured, it was not moving. Preloaders had a lot of room to put aside package for later loading. They put them under the belt, along side the truck and such.